Hannah McCrory  

BRIGHTON, ON (May 9, 2022)- Topping last week’s participant count of a total of 88 cars hit the track surface for the KIDS RACE for the Canadian National Autism Foundation night. The Quinte Septic Stinger division hit the track for the first time this season, while the Bill’s Johns Mini Stocks had the night off. 


Pickell Picks up Stinger Feature Win  

In the 12-lap main event for the Quinte Septic Stinger division, veteran Jorden Pickell No. 93 started on the pole position beside the 67J of Josh Whitney.  Pickell held on to the race lead and was not giving it up. When speaking to Pickell before Saturday night’s event he said his goal for the 2022 race season was to win a race and he was able to do that the first night out.  Robert Jenner (No. 97), Megan Golden (No. 07), Evan Minnie (No. 17E) and Chris Sparks (No. 26) rounded off the top five.  Pickell, Jenner and Whitney bring home the first heat race wins for the Stingers. 


Photo Credit: Rod Henderson;  




Bailey Claims Comp 4 Win  

Cody Sager (No. 20) and Brittany Golden (No. 85) started on the front row of the Bill’s Johns Comp 4 15-lap affair.   Tommy Bailey (No.44) was determined to visit victory lane for the first time this season. The 2022 Champion of Devon Kippen (No. 43) was just unable to catch Bailey for the lead in the almost green-checkered event and scored himself a solid second place.  Bailey was excited to return to victory lane and dedicated his win to his late grandfather who passed away last year due to COVID-19, “so that one is for you buddy” Bailey said in the winner’s circle interview.  

Aidan Fletcher No.42JR and Adam Milton No. 33 finished within the top five but were disqualified for failing post-race technical inspection.   Bailey and Josh Bogaard (No.15) took home qualifying heat race wins.  


Photo Credit: Rod Henderson; 





Anderson Earns Thunder Stock Victory 

A full field of 26 cars once again for the Brighton Automotive Thunder Stock division. Doug Anderson (No.72) and Brock Gregory (No. 1) led the field to the green.  Last week’s winner Justin Ramsay (No. 03) took the lead from Anderson on lap 14.  When the caution flag flew on lap 18 for James Turgeon (No. 87), the next restart worked in Anderson’s favour and he was able to take back the race lead from Ramsay.  Adam Wells (No. 48) finished an impressive second place, Tyler French (No. 0), Cory White (No.19) and Ramsay finish off the top five. Ramsay, Anderson and Austin Reid (No. 85) were the heat race winners for the division. However, Reid failed post-race technical inspection and was disqualified from Saturday’s results.

Photo Credit: Rod Henderson; 





Steve Baldwin Snags Win Over Hennessy 

The Vanderlaan Building Products Late Model Feature was led to the green flag by Andrew Hennessy (No. 87) and Brad Rayner (No. 55). Hennessy led the race until lap 3 when Steve Baldwin (No. 5) slipped by and grabbed the top spot.  The caution flew at lap 14 for last week’s winner, Adam Turner (No.92). With two restart attempts the Trenton native of Baldwin had his No. 5 machine on the rails for the remaining 30-lap event and was not letting Hennessy take this victory from him. Fifth place starter, Kyle Sopaz (No. 11), worked his way to earn himself a third-place finish. Charlie Sandercock (No. 57) and Turner round off the top-five.  Adam Turner (No. 92) and Caley Weese (No.77) won the qualifying heat races.  

Photo Credit: Rod Henderson; 





Gregory Gains First Win of the Season  

A caution filled race finished off race event number two and saw Shawn Gregory (No. 1) earn his first feature win of the season.  The Bainer’s OilGARD Anti-Rust Canadian Modified division started the event off with a red flag to extinguish fire from under the hood of Curtis King (No. 7) who was set to start the field off from pole position. The field came to a stop again on lap-3 for a roll-over of the No. car of Bob Green.  After many cautions the seventh-place starter of Wade Purchase (No. 53) was able to make the pass on Doug O’Blenis (No.32) for second place position on lap 16.  Gregory and Purchase ran the remainder of the 25-lap event on the high side while O’Blenis, Derrick Greig (No.48), and King finished off the top five on the preferred bottom groove.

Gregory and Purchase were the heat race winners of the evening.  


Photo Credit: Rod Henderson; 





Coming next Saturday, May 14th Tri County Lift Truck Ltd and Independent Starter & Alternator  hosts a full race program including the Vanderlaan Building Products Ltd. Late Models, Bainer’s OilGARD Anti Rust Canadian Modifieds, Brighton Automotive Thunder Stocks, Bill’s Johns Mini Stocks and Bill’s Johns Comp 4.  Front Gates open at 5:00 PM, Hot Laps begin at 6:00 PM and the green flag drops at 7:00 PM.   Grandstand Admission is $15.00 for Adults, $12.00 for Youths & Seniors, $7.00 for Children 7 to 12 and$2.00 for Children 6 & Under.  Tickets can be bought at the gate or save time, and buy in advance on line. Visit for up-to-date information and purchasing options.



Results May 07, 2022


Vanderlaan Building Products Late Model Division

1st 5 Steve Baldwin, 2nd 87 Andrew Hennessy, 3rd 11 Kyle Sopaz, 4th 57 Charlie Sandercock, 5th 92 Adam Turner, 6th 55 Brad Rayner, 7th 77 Caley Weese, 8th 33 David Vandertoorn, 9th 21 Rich Sanders, 10th 46 Brandon Mowat


Bainer’s OilGARD Anti Rust Canadian Modified Division

1st 1 Shawn Gregory, 2nd 53Wade Purchase, 3rd 32 Doug O’Blenis, 4th 48 Derrick Greig, 5th 07 Curtis King, 6th 2 Leslie Mowat, 7th 3 Nathan Rinaldi, 8th 40 Ron Wadforth, 9th 69 Julian Phillips, 10th 51 Mike Freeman, 11th 5 Wally Alderdice, 12th 41 Corey Halbert, 13th 09 Dan Price, 14th 14m Matthew Moore, 15th 4 Tom Swerbrick, 16th 26 Bob Green


Brighton Automotive Thunder Stock Division

1st 72 Doug Anderson, 2nd 48 Adam Wells, 3rd 0 Tyler French, 4th 19 Cory White, 5th 03 Justin Ramsay, 6th 88 Patrick Easton, 7th 14 Chris Dorland, 8th 18 Kyle Anderson, 9th 83 Andrew Massey , 10th 74 Mike Lucas, 11th 76 Cody Driscoll, 12th 7 Ricky Phillips, 13th 41 Ryan Lambert, 14 9 Josh Black, 15th 01 Kyle Gregory, 16th 16 Kaitlyn O’Blenis, 17th 77 Adrian Hancock, 18th 08 Angie Kirby, 19th 23 Doug May, 20th 28 Cole McKeown, 21st 87 James Turgeon, 22nd 97 Dave Barrett, 23rd 1 Brock Gregory, 24th 27 Torri Pope, DQ 85 Austin Reid


Bill’s Johns Comp 4 Division

1st 44 Tommy Bailey, 2nd 43 Devon Kippen, 3rd 79 Ryan Oosterholt, 4th 11Will Dorie SUB A.FLIELER, 5th 15 Josh Bogaard, 6th 85 Brittany Golden, 7th 85j Jordan Monaghan, 8th 19 Shannon White, 9th 35 Taya Farrell-Sonnenburg, 10th 22 Keith Dunk, 11th 20 Cody Sager, 12th 16 Dawson Evans, DQ 33Adam Milton, DQ 42jr Aidan Fletcher


Quinte Septic Stinger Division

1st 93 Jorden Pickell, 2nd 79 Robert Jenner, 3rd 07 Megan Golden, 4th 17e Evan Minnie, 5th 26 Chris Sparks, 6th 17 Gavin Rushlow, 7th 87 Dawson Beaudrie, 8th 12 Shane Vale, 9th 27 Kendal Hase, 10th 30 Ryan Hill, 11th 41 Landon Mutch, 12th 95 Nicole Deveau, 13th 7 Josh Toon , 14th 67 Alex Johnson, 15th 67j Josh Whitney, 16th 14 Kevin Mutch, 17th 04 Stephen Scott, DQ 03A Dillion Barker