Brighton Speedway Celebrates 2014 Champions

By Clayton Johns

BRIGHTON – Brighton Speedway officially capped off its 2014 season with the Celebration of Champions on Saturday, January 23. The speedway honoured its top performers and award winners at the King Edward Park Arena in Brighton.

Specialty Awards

A variety of specialty awards were handed out to Brighton drivers and the speedway community.

The Fowl Mood Racing pit crew earned the Best Pit Crew Award. The Fowl Mood team prepares three cars for three different divisions. Phil Potts’ late model, Rich Sanders’ comp 4, and Stu Archer’s stinger are all well-prepared with the No.29 on the side.

Greg Belyea earned the track’s least popular award for Best Rollover. Belyea did a complete flip in the air off of turn two on June 14 before landing back on all four wheels and suffering only a couple of broken shocks to the racecar.

Comp 4 driver Courtney Mastin earned the Most Gentle Person award. Mastin is one of the nicest people in the pits on any given week.

Charlie Sandercock earned the Most Consistent award for his eight wins and 14 top-fives in 16 starts.

Canadian Modified pilot Adam Whaley was the track’s Most Sportsmanlike. Whaley earned one feature win this year, but more importantly is one of the cleanest drivers on the racetrack. Fellow driver Warren Mowat took the Hard Luck award for the whole mess of mechanical problems he fought throughout the season.

The 2014 George Reid Memorial award, presented annually to a person in the pit area that is committed to helping any crew or driver, was awarded to Richard (Dick) Ferguson. Richard is the crew chief on Dan Ferguson’s No.11 Canadian Modified.

Mark and Angie Rinaldi presented the Promoter’s Award to Joe and Sandra Dibbits of Dibbits Excavating for their commitment and support of Brighton Speedway and short track racing.

The final specialty award, the Corey Bird Memorial is presented annually to a member of the speedway who shows dedication to improving the speedway. Brett Minaker is the recipient of this year’s award. Minaker is the race day operations manager who takes on more tasks than most can understand on any given night. His commitment to the track continues throughout the week and is invaluable to Brighton Speedway.

Championship Crowns

IMG_7435The top 12 drivers in each of the speedway’s five classes received awards, provided they attained at least 75% attendance throughout the season.

Gerald Draaistra of Vanderlaan Building Products was on hand to present awards to each of the Pro Late Model winners. Charlie Sandercock was officially crowned the 2014 champion. Sandercock also earned the most feature wins and most overall wins in the division in 2014. Austin King earned the division’s Most Improved Driver. Greg Belyea received the Best Appearing Award voted on by Brighton fans on opening night.

IMG_7422The OilGARD Anti-Rust Canadian Modifieds received their awards from OilGARD’s Derek Bain. Ryan Scott was presented with his championship trophy and Hoosier Racing Tire championship jacket. The runner-up spot went to Dan Ferguson. Ferguson was rewarded for earning the most overall checkered flags, his Danny Reid Memorial win, and the Triple Crown. Third-place finished Andrew Hennessy earned the most feature wins in 2014 and received the Best Appearing Car award. Derek Bowers was named the division’s Most Improved driver.

In the Brighton Automorive Pro Stock division, Kevin McBride presented awards to IMG_7410the top drivers. Doug Anderson earned the 2014 championship, his fifth consecutive, with the most feature and overall wins. Anderson was also the Duel in the Dirt and Triple Crown champion.

The Bill’s Johns Comp 4s capped off their 2014 campaign with awards from Bill’s Johns Ed Newberry. Rich Sanders took home his first career championship trophy on the strength of the most feature and overall wins. Shelby Mills earned her Best Appearing Award. Brady Greer was the division’s runner-up and Triple Crown champion. Austin Reid won the division’s Most Improved Driver, a well-earned designation.

IMG_7400Finally, the Quinte Septic Stingers received their awards from track promoters Mark and Angie Rinaldi as Tex St. Bernard of Quinte Spetic could not attend. Del MacGregor was crowned champion for the third straight year. MacGregor won the most races in the division last season. Rick Phillips was awarded the second spot on the Stingers podium while past champion Andy Fletcher was third. Meagan Golden was the division’s Most Improved Driver.

Sponsor Recognition

IMG_7391A number of Brighton’s dedicated corporate sponsors received commemorative plaques for their support.

Brighton Speedway would like to thank all of its 2014 partners for a successful season and looks forward to an even better summer in 2015.

Sponsors who received awards, include: ABC Taxi, Archer’s Poultry, Bainer’s Radiator/OilGARD Anti-Rust, Bellevue Fabricating Ltd., Bill’s Johns, Brighton Automotive, Brighton Recycling, Dibbits Excavating, Excel Tower Service, Flowmetrix, John’s Equipment, Larry’s Towing, LeClair Electric, Maestro’s Painting, Mark’s Heating and Cooling Ltd., McDougall Insurance & Financial, Quinte Septic, RONA of Trenton, Vanderlaan Building Supplies, VanZuylen Tire & Alignment, and Workman’s OK Tire.

The Celebration of Champions officially closes the 2014 season and opens the 2015 year. Brighton Speedway would like to thank all of its loyal fans for their support in 2014 and look forward to seeing them back at the track this season, which begin with ice racing on Saturday, February 7.

2014 Vanderlaan Building Products Pro Late Models Top-10

1. 57 Charlie Sandercock, 3035 points

2. 29 Phil Potts, 2840

3. 5 Steve Baldwin, 2785

4. 09 Matt Vanderlinden, 2440

5. 92 Adam Turner, 2425

6. 97 David McDonald, 2315

7. 77 Caley Weese, 2255

8. 25 Greg Belyea, 2170

9. 46 Brandon Mowat, 2055

10. 12 Kyle Sopaz, 1665

2014 OilGARD Anti-Rust Canadian Modifieds Top-10

1. 33 Ryan Scott, 3065 points

2. 11 Dan Ferguson, 3010

3. 87 Andrew Hennessy, 2960

4. 32 Doug O’Blenis, 2610

5. 13 Dale Locke, 2380

6. 12 Adam Whaley, 2375

7. 74 Mike Lucas, 2330

8. 46 Warren Mowat, 2180

9. 48 Derrick Greig, 2120

10. 07 Curtis King, 1850

2014 Brighton Automotive Pro Stocks Top-10

1. 72 Doug Anderson, 3160 points

2. 03 Justin Ramsay, 2830

3. 2 Leslie Mowat, 2795

4. 53 Wade Purchase, 2590

5. 55 Jamie Marshall, 2550

6. 19 Brandon Murrell, 2415

7. 83 Jay O’Hara, 2285

8. 43 Devon Kippen, 2020

9. 49 Jason McCrory, 1705

10. 1 Shawn Gregory, 1375

2014 Bill’s Johns Comp 4s Top-10

1. 29 Rich Sanders, 3190 points

2. 94 Brady Greer, 2915

3. 47 Riley Greer, 2645

4. 78 Shelby Mills, 2440

T5. 97 Courtney Mastin, 2325

T5. 87 Emily Weedman, 2325

7. 85 Austin Reid, 2150

8. 24 Bella Cosstick, 1720

9. 27 Nathan Day, 1680

10. 17 Jeff Humphrey, 1435

2014 Quinte Septic Stingers Top-5

1. 19 Del MacGregor, 1970 points

2. 7 Rick Phillips, 1645

3. 42 Andy Fletcher, 1515

4. 95 Chris Lammle, 1475

5. 93 Jordan Pickell, 1365

2014 ABC Taxi Comp 4 Triple Crown

1. 94 Brady Greer

2. 24 Bella Cosstick

3. 78 Shelby Mills

2014 Larry’s Towing Pro Stock Triple Crown

1. 72 Doug Anderson

2. 53 Wade Purchase

3. 43 Devon Kippen

2014 Rona of Trenton Canadian Modified Triple Crown

1. 11 Dan Ferguson

2. 13 Dale Locke

3. 33 Ryan Scott

Media Contact: Clayton Johns


Photo Credit: Rod Henderson