Brighton Speedway Champions Crowned

Written By Nicole Kleinsteuber at; Photos By Rod Henderson at

Brighton Speedway’s 2018 champions took home their hardware Saturday night.

At its annual banquet in Brighton, season champs were awarded trophies and cash prizes.

“It was a good year,” track promoter Mark Rinaldi said reflecting on the season that wasn’t dampened by six rainouts.

“At the end of the day there were good quality races. The competition on the track was great. The drivers did a great job at entertaining fans and it showed.”

Taking home his second consecutive late model championship (sixth overall) No. 57 Charlie Sandercock also won the Northeast Late Model Association championship in 2018. In addition to winning the Great Crate race, Sandercock earned the most checkered and feature flags.  He recorded the fastest late model lap of the season at 13.948 seconds.  No. 12 Kyle Sopaz finished runner-up, No. 29 Phil Potts third, No. 46 Brandon Mowat fourth and No. 89 Austin King fifth.

Four-time reining Canadian Modified champ Andrew Hennessy took home the most checkered flags and feature flags.  No. 91 Kraig Handley was runner up a mere five points behind Hennessy.  Handley also won the coveted Danny Reid Memorial race.  No. 12 Adam Whaley finished third, No 39 Jonah Mutton was fourth and No. 32 Doug O’Blenis was fifth. No. 07 Curis King who placed sixth overall recorded the fastest Canadian Modified lap setting a new track record at 15.227 seconds.

Thunderstock champion No. 53 Wade Purchase also secured Duel in the Dirt champion bragging rights. No. 72 Doug Anderson scored second place with the most checkered and feature flags on the season.  He also finished fourth in the Duel in the Dirt series.  No. 03 Justin Ramsay placed third and recorded the fastest lap at 16.975 seconds.  No. 2 Warren Mowat secured fourth and No. 51 Mike Freeman placed fifth.

Comp 4 champ No. 0 Tyler French also scored the most checkered flags on the season. French also grabbed the most checkered flags in 2018.  Runner up No. 11 Adam Flieler secured the most feature flags. No. 43 Devon Kippen came in third, No. 50 Willy Bulten fourth and No. 14 Matthew Moore fifth.

Brock Gregory and Jordan Pickell are the Quinte Stinger champions.

Rinaldi thanked all of the drivers and pit crews for putting work in every week. He also praised the sponsors for their continued support to the sport. “We have a great staff and run an efficient show,” he continued. “Fans show up every week and support us. The numbers were good.”

Looking forward to the 2019 season, Rinaldi said they will continue to bulid upon the weekly shows fans expect and enjoy.

“We will keep building our big events even bigger,” Rinaldi said referring to the track’s marquee events such as The Applefest Shooutout, the Labour Day Classic and Eve of Destruction.

Photo Tag

1. 2018 Vanderlaan Building Products Late Model Top Five from L-R: Brandon Mowat (4th place); Charlie Sandercock (Champion); Kyle Sopaz (2nd place); Phil Potts (3rd place); Austin King (5th place) and Lou Rinaldi presented the awards on behalf of Gerald Draistra.