Fans Thrilled at 45th Season Opener at Brighton Speedway

For Immediate Release
May 6, 2012
By: Angela Rinaldi

Fans literally packed the Brighton Speedway on Monster Energy Drink opening night to see the 45th season of Dirt Stock Car racing get under way.  The day started early as drivers took their brand new 2012 rides to the streets of Brighton for the first ever Parade of Champions Food Drive.  Fans lined main street Brighton to get a sneak peek of the new looks of their favorite Brighton Speedway Driver while raising food and money for the Brighton Fare Share Food Bank.  Fans and Drivers then moved to the track to get set to kick off the season where more food donations were accepted and in the end a twenty foot fully enclosed trailer was filled.  “What a great way to kick off the season with our own parade, and then to see the generosity of our fans is just awesome” stated track owner Lou Rinaldi.

The races got underway at 7pm sharp and the action was fast and furious right from the start on the tacky 1/3rd mile oval.  On a night that featured Bill’s Johns Comp 4’s, Brighton Automotive Pro Stocks, Bainer’s Radiator Canadian Modifieds and the Vanderlaan’s Building Supplies Late Models, all four 2011 champions returned to the track in hopes of starting the season out on a winning note.  However, it was not to be as all four classes saw double winners but none were the reigning champions.

The Bainer’s Radiator Canadian Modified class was the first to hit the track and the cars looked like they had not missed a beat in the off season.  #19 Zeke McKeown and #4 Shawn Gregory won their heat races, putting them on the pole for their 25 lap main event.  Gregory would jump out to the early lead but not for long as McKeown would grab the lead on lap two.  McKeown wouldn’t look back after that even though he was challenged a number of times by #27 J.J. Courcy and 2011 champ #11 Dan Ferguson.  The three waged a fierce battle throughout the whole race including a number of restarts that would put Courcy right up beside McKeown for the restart.  McKeown was solid and held on for the win while Ferguson was able to get by Courcy in the closing laps for second.  “It is a lot of fun racing like that with those guys and the track was just awesome tonight!” said McKeown in victory lane.

Next up was the Brighton Automotive Pro Stocks.  Defending champ #72 Doug Anderson and last year’s runner up #83 Jay O’Hara would win their respective heats putting them up front for the start of their 20 lap feature.  Like the feature before them O’Hara would get the early lead but by lap two Anderson would go around the outside and charge to the lead.  With O’Hara and #2 Leslie Mowat right behind Anderson would continue to lead however showing a little smoke out the rear of the car.  It wasn’t long before that smoke would be the end of Anderson’s night as it turned out to be a transmission failure.  From there O’Hara would lead Mowat to the checker flag.  The hard charger award went to #17 Rob Disher who came from his 10th starting spot to chase Mowat down only to fall just short and settle for 3rd place.

The Vanderlaan’s Building Supplies Late Models would hit the track for the third feature event of the night and #11 Corey would pick up right where he left off in 2011 when he won the last feature event of the year.  Earl would start on the front row along side of #87 Andrew Hennessy and jump right to the lead with Hennessy dropping into second place followed by #29 Phil Potts in third.  By lap five Potts had moved around Hennessey for second and started to track down Earl but couldn’t close the 5 car gap.  A mid race restart would give Potts his best chance as Earl chose the outside forcing Potts to the inside.  The two raced side by side for a lap and Potts continued to drive the nose of his car down in deep trying to get underneath Earl who was up high but couldn’t make it stick.  Earl would go on to victory circle followed by the Potts and Hennessy.

The Bill’s Johns Comp 4 feature would see 25 cars take the green flag for the 15 Lap feature, one that was filled with action and few big crashes.  #17 Jeff Humphry and #11 Adam Fleiler led the field to green with Humphrey’s taking the lead.  It was the #03 Justin Ramsay that was on the move early and jumped from his 5th starting spot up two 2nd earlier on.  The two would stay that way for the entire race Ramsay made a number of strong moves on Humphrey’s but could not make it work.  At the end of the race Humphry would hold on for the win, Ramsay was second with #66 Mark Packer pulling up third, however both Ramsay and Packer came up light in post race inspection and were disqualified handing second and third two #32 Terry Hough and #5 Brandon Walker respectively.  Rookie #85 Austin Reid took a hard roll over into the creek on lap 10 but emerged from the car with just minor bruises after being checked out by the speedway medical crew and is feeling some aches and pains the day after.

Be sure to join us next Saturday night as the 2012 season continues when Town and Country Plumbing presents Dollar Dog Night.  Along with $1.00 jumbo hot dogs all night long it will feature the Bill’s Johns Comp 4, Brighton Automotive Pro Stocks, Bainer’s Radiator Canadian Modifieds, Vanderlaan’s Building supplies Late Models and the start of the 2012 Quinte Septic Stinger division.  Gates open at 5:30 and racing starts at 7pm sharp.  For complete details on this even or any others visit

Results for Brighton Speedway 5/05/12

Bainer’s Radiator Canadian Modified Feature

1. #19 Zeke McKeown (Havelock, ON), 2. #11 Dan Ferguson (Bloomfield, ON), 3. #27 J.J. Courcy (Mexico, NY),  4. #18 Kevin Scott (Trenton, ON), 5. #7  Henry Schneider (Picton, ON),

Bill Johns Comp 4 Feature

1. #17 Jeff Humphry (Belleville, ON ), 2. #32 Terry Hough (Brighton, ON), 3. #5 Brandon Walker, 4. #44 Brandon Wilkie* (Trenton, ON), 5.  #27 Nathan Day (Colborne, ON),

Brighton Auto Pro Stock Feature

1. #83 Jay O’Hara (Brighton, ON), 2. #2 Leslie Mowat (Trenton, ON), 3. #17 Rob Disher, 4. #35 Jerry Kimmerly (Brighton, On), 5. #37 Gerry Radford (Campbellford, ON),

Vanderlaan’s Pro Late Models Feature

1. #11 Corey Earl (Picton, ON), 2. #29 Phil Potts (Frankford, On), 3. #87 Andrew Hennessy (Picton, ON), 4. #42 Adam Nayler (Quinte West, ON), 5. #09 Mat Vanderlinden (Trenton, ON),