Mario Clair Super In Second Applefest Shootout Win

September 22, 2012, BRIGHTON, ON – Mario Clair became the second driver to capture two Applefest Shootout wins at Brighton Speedway and the first to do so in a DIRTcar 358 Modified Series event at the 1/3 mile facility. Clair started 19th in the 100 lap feature and got by Carey Terrance with five laps remaining to claim the victory exactly five years to the date of his first win.

The Benson Auto Parts Applefest Shootout Presented by Cool 100 got off to a rocky start as a multi-car pileup in corner three set up a complete restart. Take two wasn’t any better as outside pole sitter Matt Billings’ car failed to get up to speed causing a log jam in the exit of corner four. Defending race winner Tim O’Brien would suffer heavy damage ending his night.

Once the race got underway Chad Chevalier would move by pole sitter Erick Rudolph for the lead on lap two. Chevalier’s time out front would last just five laps as Carey Terrance worked by the Port Colborne, Ontario driver and lead the next 39 laps.

On lap 46, DIRTcar 358 Modified Series points leader, Dale Planck, passed his teammate and car owner for the top spot. Planck pulled away and looked untouchable until the right front shock broke on the #77x on a lap 87 restart. Repairs under caution allowed Planck to finish the race in 13th place and on the lead lap. Mario Clair drove by Planck for the lead, but was passed two laps later by Terrance. Clair would get back by Terrance though on lap 95 and cruise to the win. The Quebec native collected $4,000 for the win while Terrance finished second. Travis Braun drove from the 11th starting position to finish 3rd while Mat Williamson and Chad Chevalier completed the top five.

Other winners on the night that made it to Lucas Oil victory lane were #72 Doug Anderson in the Duel in the Dirt 50 Lap Pro Stock Feature.  Anderson won the Feature but it was #M1 Rob Murray from Merrittville Speedway that took the overall Duel on the Dirt Championship finish with second to Anderson.  The Bainer’s Radiator Canadian Modifieds and Vanderlaan’s Building Supplies Late Models each had a new winner see the VP Race Fuels checker flag with #55 Jamie Marshall picking up the win in the Modifieds while #92 Adam Turner won the Late Models.

Brighton Speedway would like to congratulate all of its champions and thank all of its drivers and fans for the 2012 season as we get set for the final event of the year this coming Sunday afternoon for the Lange and Fetter Ford Eve Of Destruction presented by Hotch’s Auto Parts.  The event will start at 12:30 and will feature a Juniors Enduro, a Ladies Enduro, the 100 lap Monster Enduro plus the popular Trailer Race, Car Long Jump Competition, The Gauntlet, Flag Pole Race and The Brighton Recycling Demolition Derby.  For complete details on this event or other news visit


– A total of 26 DIRTcar 358 Modifieds were on hand for the 2012 Benson Auto Parts Applefest Shootout Presented by Cool 100.

– The win for Mario Clair came exactly five years to the date of his first Applefest Shootout win on Saturday, September 22nd, 2007.

Benson Auto Parts Applefest Shootout 100 Presented by Cool 100

DIRTcar 358 Modified Series (100 Laps)

Results – Saturday, September 22nd, 2012

Finish # Name (Starting Position)

1. 22c Mario Clair (19)

2. 66x Carey Terrance (7)

3. 76 Travis Braun (11)

4. 6m Mat Williamson (4)

5. 12 Chad Chevalier (3)

6. 37s Tommy Flannigan (5)

7. 6 Pat O’Brien (6)

8. 66 Kyle Dingwall (15)

9. 28 Todd Gordon (17)

10. M96 Brian McDonald (8)

11. 25R Erick Rudolph (1)

12. 61 Brian Rogers (22)

13. 77x Dale Planck (9)

14. 71 Mike Bowman (18)

15. 35 Adam Moore (21)

16. 77 Lee Miller (24)

17. 115 Stephane LaFrance (13)

18. 75J Joe Banks (26)

19. 01 Chris Raabe (10)

20. 17D Danny O’Brien (12)

21. 7 Lee Gill (16)

22. 9 Jason Riddell (23)

23. 17c Chris Steele (20)

24. 27T Travis Stacey (25)

25. 74 Matt Billings (2)

26. 88 Tim O’Brien (14)

Brighton Speedway Race Results Saturday, September 22, 2012

Bainer’s Radiators Canadian Modified Division

Feature:1. Jamie Marshall (Trenton, ON), 2. Dan Ferguson (Bloomfield, ON), 3. Dale Locke (Stirling, ON), 4. Zeke McKeown (Havelock, ON), 5. Derrick Greig (Carrying Place, ON),

Brighton Automotive Pro Stock Division

Feature:1. Doug Anderson (Trenton, ON), 2. Rob Murray (Merritville, ), 3. James Thompson (St-Catharines, ON), 4. Chris Crawford (Welland, ON), 5. Jim Lampman (Carstor Centre, ON),

Vanderlaan’s Building Supplies Pro Late Model Division

Feature:1. Adam Turner, 2. Greg Belyea (Frankford, ON), 3. Mat Vanderlinden (Trenton, ON), 4. Steve Baldwin (Trenton, ON), 5. Corey Earl (Picton, ON),