McCrillis, Heard, Turner, Terpstra, Rinaldi, Burrows Win on Final Kart Klub Night

By Josh Gordon

11995692_10153471832971140_627670388_nThe final night of Brighton Speedway’s Kart Klub did not disappoint as 34 drivers across six divisions battled it out for a chance at one last feature win.

Box Stock 1

Carson McKee (No. 2) and Brooklyn Bowers (No. 03) brought the field to life but it was third-place starter Trevyn McCrillis (No. 71) making the early charge and taking the lead on lap 3. Trevyn did not relinquish the lead over the final seven laps, cruising to victory. Bowers was able to pass McKee for second while Colton Lockridge (No. 5c) and Ryan Post (No. 11r) completed the finish.

11949617_10153471827016140_1638905403_nBox Stock 2

Ryan Greig (No. 48) started on the front row with Asher Heard (No. 52) in Box Stock 2 action. Asher took the early lead on lap one, while third place starter Max McDonald (No. 5) passed Ryan for second. A lap 7 caution tightened the field but Asher was able to hold off the aggressive Max over the last three laps to win the 10-lap feature. Ryan settled for third ahead of Cooper McKeown (No. 9), James Markland (No. 21) and Jacob Down (No. 57).

Rookie 1

11997131_10153471832931140_931890993_nKiera Turner (No. 92) started on the pole for the final Rookie 1 feature of the year and although Nathan Shorts (No. 20) led the first three laps, Kiera was able to regain her lead on lap 4 and win the 10-lap feature. Kiera narrowly edged third-place starter Carson Lemanis (No. C1) in a side-by-side finish. Carson Down (No. 55), Nathan, Ashton LeClair (No. 76), Claire McDonald (No. 17) and Lexi Lucas (No. 74) completed the running order.

Rookie 2

As darkness began to fall on the Brighton Speedway oval, the Rookie 2 division provided another 11950974_10153471826991140_1595169027_nentertaining 10-lap feature. Emma Terpstra (No. 22) used her pole position to her advantage, never surrendering the lead on her way to the checkered flag. Third-place starter Cole McKeown (No. 11) was able to pass second place starter Holly Denard (No. 2) on the first lap while Kaitlyn O’Blenis (No. 23k) followed behind in fourth. Despite a lap 3 caution and a lot of close racing, the top four never changed over the final seven laps. Emily Peterson (No. 17e) and Chandler LeClair (No. 48), who bumped and battled at the back of the pack the entire night, completed the field respectively.

11944989_10153471827031140_1833283986_nJr. Sportsman

In the final Junior Sportsman feature of the year, Cole Perry (No. 23) and Kyle Anderson (No. 17) brought the field to green. Anderson led the first six laps but by lap seven, third-place starter Nathan Rinaldi (No. 3) had tracked him down. Not even a lap 12 caution could stop Rinaldi, who took the victory ahead of Anderson, Perry, Jordan Burrows (No. 16) and his brother Anthony Rinaldi (No. 77).

Jr. Restricted

11136795_10153471826916140_932056478_nThe Junior Restricted division saw its largest field of the year, as five cars checked in for the final 15-lap feature. Andrew Young (No. 29) and point leader Carissa Burrows (No. 33c) started on the front row. Third-place starter Nathan Rinaldi (No. 3) made his presence felt early on, as he passed Andrew on lap two and challenged Carissa for the lead. Nathan’s attempt to pass Carissa however fell short as a lap 7 caution tightened the field. Coming out off the caution Merritville’s Taylor White (No. 14w) took the lead and sailed to victory. White’s conquest however was aided by a different kart then the rest of the field. As a result Burrows took the victory and winner’s points ahead of Rinaldi, Young and Brock Gregory (No. 1).

Kart Klub Banquet – Thursday, September 10

The Brighton Speedway Kart Klub will host its second annual season-ending banquet next Thursday, September 10 to congratulate the young drivers on a fantastic and exciting season.

Brighton Speedway’s 2015 season is proudly supported by the following corporate sponsors: ABC Taxi, Adecco, AeCON, Bay Marine, Belleville Bulls, Bellevue Fabricating Ltd., Benson Auto Parts, Bill’s Johns, Breeze 107.9, Brighton Automotive, Brighton Recycling, Campbellford Chrysler, Canadian National Autism Foundation, Coca-Cola, Comfort Zone Heating & Air Conditioning, Cool 100, Deerhaven Farm and Garden, Dibbits Excavating, Electro Cables, Excel Tower Service, Extreme Rush Adventures, Gord’s Water, Greig Truck & Trailer, Humber Nurseries, Hotch’s Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire, Motorsport Designs, Investor’s Group, John’s Equipment, JJ Stewart Motors, Kellogg Belleville, Lange & Fetter Ford, Lucas Oil, McDougall Insurance and Financial, Monster Energy, Mystical Distributing, NOCO Fuels, OilGARD Anti-Rust, Owasco RV, Part Source, Quinte Septic, Rapid Rad, Rock 107, Rona Trenton, Sanderson Tire and Automotive, Small Engine Fuels, Star 93.3, Stoneridge Specialty Insurance, Town and Country Liquidation, TRS Communications, 95.5 Hits FM, UCB Radio Canada, Ultramar CST, Workman’s OK Tire, Vanderlaan Building Products. VanZuylen Tire, and VP Racing Fuels.

About Brighton Speedway: Brighton Speedway is a 1/3-mile clay stock car racing oval located on the shores of Lake Ontario in Brighton, Ont. The speedway hosts five weekly stock car divisions on Saturday nights from May to September. The weekly Pro Late Model division competes under RUSH Late Model Series sanctioning.  

Brighton Speedway mailing address: 775 County Road 64, Brighton, ON, K0K 1H0. 

Photo Credit: Josh Gordon

Media Contact: Clayton Johns