McCrillis, Markland, McDonald, Terpstra, Rinaldi, Burrows Win at Kart Klub

By Clayton Johns

BRIGHTON (June 5, 2015) – The second week of racing action at the Brighton Speedway Kart Klub was nothing short of spectacular with last-lap passes and side-by-side finishes deciding the winners in several of the six divisions on Thursday night.

Trevyn McCrillisBox Stock 1

The youngest drivers at the club compete in the Box Stock 1 division and are between ages 5- and 8-years old. Five-year-old Cooper McKeown (No.9) started on the pole for the feature race after winning his qualifying heat. He led early in the race until Trevyn McCrillis (No.71) took the lead on lap three.

Cooper spun on lap six to bring out a caution, but that didn’t stop the youngster from charging back to the front. Trevyn was too quick on this night though and held off Cooper for his first feature win. Brooklyn Bowers (No.03), Colton Lockridge (No.5c) and Ryan Post (No.11r) completed the finishing order.

James MarklandBox Stock 2

A tough field of Box Stock 2 drivers, also between the ages of five and eight, but with at least one year of racing experience, put on an excellent show in their 10-lap feature. Young Jacob Down (No.57) brought the field to full speed for the initial start, but Max McDonald (No.5) burst out of a cannon to take the early lead.

Second-year driver James Markland (No.21) had some trouble with turn three early on, spinning twice, but used his experience to his advantage. After restarting at the back with two laps to go, James started to track down Max for the lead. At the exit of turn two, James hit the after-burner as he entered turn three. James took the bottom lane away from the race leader and completed the pass for the victory exiting turn four on the final lap of the race. Max, Jacob, and Ryan Greig (No.48) completed the running order. Max McDonald won the only heat race.

Claire McDonaldRookie 1

The Rookie 1 division had a stacked field of seven karts for it’s 10-lap feature. Ashton LeClair started on the pole in his No.76 kart. It was long, however, before Claire McDonald (No.17) assumed her position at the front of the field on the opening lap.

Claire checked out in front of the field, leaving Ashton to battle for second with Nathan Shorts (No.20). Nathan repeatedly tried to get underneath Ashton, but nothing was available. After Nathan spun on lap five, Claire continued to lead as Ashton had his hands full with Keira Turner (No.92). Keira looked capable of making the pass, but ran out of time as Claire and Ashton finished first and second. Keira, Carson Down (No.55), Nathan, Carson Lemanis (No.C1) and Cameron Bristow (No.99) completed the running order. Nathan Shorts and Claire McDonald won the heat races.

Emma TerpstraRookie 2

The elder-half of the rookie division put on a show as well, Emma Terpstra (No.22) specifically. The 10-year-old called her own shot before the race, saying she had finished second and third in previous races, but was going to win herself a first winner’s plaque on this night. Starting on the pole, Emma ran a perfect race with a smooth and consistent line around the tight racetrack.

Emma successfully dodged a number of Cole McKeown’s (No.11) attempts to take the race lead, including on a pair of restarts. She led all 10 laps to capture the checkered flag, just as she said. Holly Denard (No.02) made an impressive last lap pass to finish third. The rest of the field finished with Chandler Leclair (No.48m) in fourth and followed by Kaitlyn O’Blenis (No.23k) and Emily Peterson (No.17e). Emma Terpstra and Kaitlyn O’Blenis won the two heat races.

Nathan RinaldiJr. Sportsman

Cole Perry (No.23) started on the pole for the Jr. Sportsman feature. The four-car field was four-wide off the initial start with all drivers jockeying for the lead position.

Nathan Rinaldi (No.3) emerged with the lead pulling Kyle Anderson (No.17) along with him. A caution on the first lap, however, called for a complete restart. This time, Cole got a much better start and led the first three laps. Nathan retook the lead on the fourth circuit and never looked back. Cole and Kyle battled closely for second with Kyle eventually taking the spot. Anthony Rinaldi (No.77) finished fourth. Nathan also won the single heat race.

Carissa BurrowsJr. Restricted

The 15-lap main event for the Junior Restricted division featured a tight battle for the race lead between Nathan Rinaldi (No.3) and defending champion Carissa Burrows (No.33c). Nathan led until lap five when Carissa assumed the lead. She never thought twice over the final 10 laps and picked up her second win of the season. Brock Gregory (No.1) was third. Carissa was also the heat race victor.

Next Race – June 18

The Brighton Speedway Kart Klub goes on vacation for a week before returning to full speed on June 18.

Brighton Speedway’s 2015 season is proudly supported by the following corporate sponsors: ABC Taxi, Adecco, AeCON, Bay Marine, Belleville Bulls, Bellevue Fabricating Ltd., Benson Auto Parts, Bill’s Johns, Breeze 107.9, Brighton Automotive, Brighton Recycling, Campbellford Chrysler, Canadian National Autism Foundation, Coca-Cola, Comfort Zone Heating & Air Conditioning, Cool 100, Deerhaven Farm and Garden, Dibbits Excavating, Electro Cables, Excel Tower Service, Extreme Rush Adventures, Gord’s Water, Greig Truck & Trailer, Humber Nurseries, Hotch’s Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire, Motorsport Designs, Investor’s Group, John’s Equipment, JJ Stewart Motors, Kellogg Belleville, Lange & Fetter Ford, Lucas Oil, McDougall Insurance and Financial, Monster Energy, Mystical Distributing, NOCO Fuels, OilGARD Anti-Rust, Owasco RV, Part Source, Quinte Septic, Rapid Rad, Rock 107, Rona Trenton, Sanderson Tire and Automotive, Small Engine Fuels, Star 93.3, Stoneridge Specialty Insurance, Town and Country Liquidation, TRS Communications, 95.5 Hits FM, UCB Radio Canada, Ultramar CST, Workman’s OK Tire, Vanderlaan Building Products. VanZuylen Tire, and VP Racing Fuels.

About Brighton Speedway: Brighton Speedway is a 1/3-mile clay stock car racing oval located on the shores of Lake Ontario in Brighton, Ont. The speedway hosts five weekly stock car divisions on Saturday nights from May to September. The weekly Pro Late Model division competes under RUSH Late Model Series sanctioning.

Brighton Speedway mailing address: 775 County Road 64, Brighton, ON, K0K 1H0.

Media Contact: Clayton Johns