McKeown, Shorts, Greig, Petersen, Rinaldi Brothers Win at Kart Klub Week 3

By Clayton Johns

BRIGHTON (June 18, 2015) – The third week of racing action at the Brighton Speedway Kart brought another full field of karts across six divisions.

11637936_10153243070886281_1263590604_nBox Stock 1

The youngest drivers at the club compete in the Box Stock 1 division and are between ages 5- and 8-years old. Five-year-old Cooper McKeown (No.9) started on the front row for the feature race with Brooklyn Bowers (No.03). Before long, McKeown had his hands full fending off the race lead.

Trevyn McCrillis (No.71) made his presence felt in the battle for the lead before the race was over and pulled even with Brooklyn. Cooper held on to the race lead for all 10 laps for the victory and Brooklyn finished second ahead of Trevyn and Colton Lockridge (No.5c). Cooper also won the heat race.

11424776_10153243070861281_798671834_nBox Stock 2

Another impressive field of Box Stock 2 drivers took to the track for an action-packed 10-lap feature. Ryan Greig (No.48) put his machine on the pole for the feature by winning his heat race. Starting from the pole, Ryan set the controls for his No.48 to cruise and never gave up the lead, despite James Markland’s (No.21) best attempts. Jacob Down (No.57), Max McDonald (No.5) and Asher Heard (No.52) duked it out for third over the closing laps.

When the checkered flag fell, Ryan took the victory over James, Jacob, Max, and Asher.

11647379_10153243069791281_992669832_nRookie 1

A big field of rookie 1 drivers tackled the infield bull ring for their 10-lap feature. There were a few cautions to start the race as a handful of drivers struggled to find the handling on a slick racetrack. Cameron Bristow (No.99) was the early leader, but Nathan Shorts (No.20) took the lead midway through the race. Keira Turner (No.92) put the pedal to metal in the closing laps and passed two cars to find herself in second.

She raced right to the back bumper of Shorts’ No.99 but ran out of time to make the pass before the checkers. Cameron, Ashton LeClair (No.76), Carson Lemanis (No.C1), Claire McDonald (No.17) and Lexi Lucas (No.12) completed the running order.

11637889_10153243070896281_2103527782_nRookie 2

Emily Pererson  (No.17E) and Kaitlyn O’Blenis (No.23k) brought the Rookie 2 division to the green flag. Four different drivers shuffled for the lead in the opening two laps. Kaitlyn took the early lead, before Chandler LeClair (No.48) made a move for the lead. Some contact between the leaders allowed Emily back to the point.

Holly Denard (No.02) was shot from a cannon as she went from seventh to second in three laps. Cole McKeown (No.11) battled with Denard side-by-side for second but narrowly missed taking over the spot. Peterson never looked back, however, to secure her first victory. Holly, Cole, Chandler, Kaitlyn, Emma Terpstra (No.22) and Raiah Lough (No.07) completed the finish.

11419719_10153243070891281_501115727_nJr. Sportsman

The Junior Sportsman division proved to be one of the best races of the night. Anthony Rinaldi (No.77) started on the pole for the 15-lap feature. Anthony ran a perfect race and survived a strong restart attempt by Cole Perry (No.23) early in the race to retain the lead. Anthony then had to hold off a charge from his older brother Nathan Rinaldi (No.3) to earn his first win. Nathan, Cole, and Kyle Anderson (No.17) was the final running order.

Jr. Restricted

11350086_10153243070931281_1933467227_nThe final and fastest race of the night was again for the Junior Restricted division. Carissa Burrows (No.33c) entered the night with two straight victories, but the streak ended on Thursday. Nathan Rinaldi (No.3) began the race on the pole and jumped out to an early lead over Carissa and Brock Gregory (No.1). Nathan extended his grip on the point position to five car lengths over Carissa and was perfectly smooth on route to his first Junior Restricted division win of the seasons over Carissa and Brock. Michaela Lough (No.16) did not start the feature, unfortunately, due to mechanical problems.

Next Race – June 25

The Brighton Speedway Kart Klub will be back in action next Thursday night with another action-packed night of racing.

Brighton Speedway’s 2015 season is proudly supported by the following corporate sponsors: ABC Taxi, Adecco, AeCON, Bay Marine, Belleville Bulls, Bellevue Fabricating Ltd., Benson Auto Parts, Bill’s Johns, Breeze 107.9, Brighton Automotive, Brighton Recycling, Campbellford Chrysler, Canadian National Autism Foundation, Coca-Cola, Comfort Zone Heating & Air Conditioning, Cool 100, Deerhaven Farm and Garden, Dibbits Excavating, Electro Cables, Excel Tower Service, Extreme Rush Adventures, Gord’s Water, Greig Truck & Trailer, Humber Nurseries, Hotch’s Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire, Motorsport Designs, Investor’s Group, John’s Equipment, JJ Stewart Motors, Kellogg Belleville, Lange & Fetter Ford, Lucas Oil, McDougall Insurance and Financial, Monster Energy, Mystical Distributing, NOCO Fuels, OilGARD Anti-Rust, Owasco RV, Part Source, Quinte Septic, Rapid Rad, Rock 107, Rona Trenton, Sanderson Tire and Automotive, Small Engine Fuels, Star 93.3, Stoneridge Specialty Insurance, Town and Country Liquidation, TRS Communications, 95.5 Hits FM, UCB Radio Canada, Ultramar CST, Workman’s OK Tire, Vanderlaan Building Products. VanZuylen Tire, and VP Racing Fuels. 

About Brighton Speedway: Brighton Speedway is a 1/3-mile clay stock car racing oval located on the shores of Lake Ontario in Brighton, Ont. The speedway hosts five weekly stock car divisions on Saturday nights from May to September. The weekly Pro Late Model division competes under RUSH Late Model Series sanctioning.

Brighton Speedway mailing address: 775 County Road 64, Brighton, ON, K0K 1H0.

Media Contact: Clayton Johns