Mitch Rosborough Picks up his First Ever Feature, Late Models Have Trying Night on Wall of Fame Night!

For Immediate Release

August 17, 2013
by: Angela Rinaldi

Fans flowed into the Speedway early on Saturday night as Flowmetrics presented the annual Brighton Speedway Wall of Fame inductions along with the Canadian National Autism Foundation “Kids Race”.

The night got off to a great start and Brighton Speedway honoured three new inductees onto their Wall of Fame.  The wall that sits in the courtyard of the Speedway is full of legends that have all contributed over the years to make Brighton into the track it is today.  This year’s inductees included long time drivers and track supporters #57 Lee Sandercock who spent a number of years racing at Brighton and area pave tracks as well as #10 Richard “Rick” Ferguson who has been a staple at the track since the early 1990’s.   Rick started out racing at Can Am Speedway but then moved to racing at Brighton where he still attends every week with his son Dan Ferguson.  The third person to get his name up on the Wall of Fame was long time track announcer Russ Trottman.  Russ announced for a number of years at the track and for all three owners of Brighton Speedway including Lou Reddom, Bob Gibson and Lou Rinaldi.  Later in the evening Russ re-lived some of his glory days calling the evening’s races with current track Announcer Huck Flindall.

The Quinte Septic Stinger Feature was the first feature of the night and it was current point’s leader #19 Del MacGregor that worked his way to the front from deep in the field.  MacGregor held of #95 Christopher Lammle and #28 Mark MacDonald for the win.

The Brighton Automotive Pro Stock Feature was arguably the best feature of the night as #36 Mitch Rosborough picked up his first career win.  Although Rosborough started up front he didn’t have the race handed to him.  Rosborough was pressured all race long by #23 Rob Perry and #72 Doug Anderson.  At one point the three were so tight you could have thrown a blanket over them as Perry tried to work under Rosborough and Anderson tried to go around the outside.  In the end it was Rosborough coming across the line first with Anderson in second and Perry third.

The OilGaurd Canadian Modifieds hit the track for their 25 lap main event and it was Pole Sitter #19 Zeke McKeown who jumped out to the early lead.  Behind him they were stacked up two wide through the top ten cars.  The race was slowed a number of times for cautions that lead to a number of restarts with McKeown and #12 Adam Whaley side by side.  The two would spend much of the race like this until Whaley finally settled in behind McKeown.  This now opened up the high line for #33 Ryan Scott who worked his way around both Whaley and McKeown.  Scott who looked destine to win his third feature of the season start to show smoke with about five laps remaining and physically started to lose speed with two to go.  This allowed Mckeown to close right back in and in turn three of the last lap McKeown would dive underneath Scott pushing him high to take the lead and the win.  Scott would limp across the line for second and Whaley would maintain a third place finish.

The Vanderlaan’s Building Supplies Pro Late Models were up next and it is a feature that probably most drivers want to forget.  A race stat started with 18 cars, finished with just 7.  A number of early cautions continued to stack the field up and unfortunately on this night it was the fact that cautions breed more cautions, and even two red flags.  In the end it was a good battle to the finish as #29 Phil Potts out lasted the rest and narrowly beat #46 Brandon Mowat to the line.  Potts’ Car that was specially lettered and decaled in support of the Canadian National Autism foundations found its way to Victory lane where car owners Stuart and April Archer donated all their winnings on the night to the foundation.

The final feature of the night was the Bill’s Johns Comp 4 division where current points leader #43 Tom Vance took advantage of a late race mistake by leader #78 Selby Mills.  During a late race restart coming to the green Mills missed a shift and slowed significantly on the front straight allowing Vance and a number of other drivers to pass.  Vance would go on to win followed by #29 Rich Saunders and #32 Terry Hough

Be sure to join us next week as Behan Construction presents the Gord’s Water Vantastics and demonstration from the BSP Kart Klub.  The evening will feature the Late Models, Canadian Modifieds, Pro Stocks and Comp 4’s.    Gates open at 5:30PM and racing starts at 7:00PM sharp each Saturday night.  Tickets can be purchased at the gate and we remind fans that we have full concessions on site. You can check the web site at or visit us on Facebook to keep up to date on all that is happening in our racing world.  Be sure to mark Saturday August 31st and Sunday September 1st of the Calendar as the Southern Ontario Sprints return for two nights of action during the Bellevue Fabrication Labour Day Weekend Classic

Brighton Speedway

Bill Johns Comp 4 8/17/13

Feature:1. Tom Vance  (Stockdale, ON), 2. Rich Sanders (Picton, ON), 3. Terry Hough (Brighton, ON), 4. Brandon Murrell (Gores Landing, ON), 5. Brady Greer (Wellington, ON),

Brighton Auto Pro Stock 8/17/13

Feature:1. Mitch Rosborough (Picton, ON), 2. Doug Anderson (Trenton, ON), 3. Rob Perry (Wooler, ON), 4. Percy Walsh (Trenton, ON), 5. Wade Purchase (Demorestville, ON),

Oilgard Can Modified 8/17/13

Feature:1. Zeke McKeown (Havelock, ON), 2. Ryan Scott (Kingston, ON), 3. Adam Whaley (Trenton, ON), 4. Mike Lucas (Belleville, ON), 5. Dan Ferguson (Bloomfield, ON),

Quinte Septic Stingers 8/17/13

Feature:1. Del MacGregor (Brighton, ON), 2. Christopher Lammle (Trenton, ON), 3. Mark MacDonald (Corbyville, ON), 4. Lexi Fletcher (Carrying Place, ON), 5. Rick Phillips (Frankford, On),

Vanderlaans Pro Late Models 8/17/13

Feature:1. Phil Potts (Frankford, On), 2. Brandon Mowat (Brighton, ON), 3. Charlie Sandercock (Belleville, ON), 4. David McDonald (Brighton, ON), 5. Dave Barberstock* (Deseronto, On),