Two Days of Racing Action to kick off September!

The Brighton Automotive Labour Day Sprint Car Extravaganza hosted 280 cars over two nights at the Brighton Speedway.  Fans were thrilled in their seats as two sprint car series featured their high speed winged excitement.  Late models, Canadian Modifieds, Thunder stocks, Comp 4’s, Mini Stocks and Stingers each joined the race card either once or twice over the two days.

Kicking off Saturday nights racing was the Bill’s Johns Mini Stock event.  Outside pole sitter No. 96 Cole Abrams battled No. 12 Caleb Severin off and on through the 15 lap feature event until Severin lost a wheel in turn 4 and headed to the pits for a quick change.  Coming through the field from position 15, No. 7 Anthony Rinaldi made it passed 13 other competitors to secure the runner up spot on the podium.  No. 6R Jason Dixon finished 3rd, No. 14M Matthew Moore in 4th and No. 5 Eric Conlin finished off the top five.

24 out 32 Action Sprint Tour crate cars took to the 1/3rd mile clay oval. No. 9 Luke Stewart and No. 45 Nick Sheridan were the front row starters for the 25 lap A-Main, and Stewart led the first 19 laps while Sheridan and No. 5D Jacob Dykstra traded the second position back and forth. Dykstra got past Stewart on lap 20 and went on to claim his sixth AST win in seven attempts this season. Stewart settled for the runner-up spot, followed by Sheridan, No. 7 Eric Gledhill, and No. 4 Jesse Costa.

The Brighton Automotive  Thunder Stock feature saw No. 92 Adam Turner lead start to finish.  He was followed to the line by No. 03 Justin Ramsay, No. 1 Brock Gregory, No. 88 Patrick Easton and No, 19 Cory White.  A post race inspection found technical discrepancies on the 19 moving veteran No. 40 Ron Wadforth into 5th.

At the start of the Pinty’s Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car feature No. 91 Ryan Turner and No. 5 D.J. Christie started the 25 lap A-Main on the front row, and Turner got the early lead. Action heated up all through the field in what turned out to be a nonstop race completed in less than seven minutes. Christie got the lead on lap 11 and stayed up front for his second win of the season. Turner continued his consistent season by taking the runner-up spot.  No. 14H Jim Huppunen and No. 28 Jordan Poirier continued their season-long contest as both moved up from row four and five to race for the third spot late in the race. Huppunen took the spot back from Poirier and claimed the final podium position, followed by Poirier, and No. 9 Liam Martin.

The Vanderlaan Building Products Late Model race saw Prince Edward County’s Caley Weese lead all 30-laps as she drove her 77 machine to victory lane picking up her first-ever late model win in front of a roaring crowd. The 10 year late model veteran battled ahead of No. 311 Sam Pennacchio until lap 24 when No. 5 Steve Baldwin moved past and opened up a hole for No. 92 Adam Turner to move ahead.  The top five positions were rounded out by No. 87 Andrew Hennessy.

The final race of the night for Day 1 of the Labour Day Classic was the Bainer’s OilGARD Anti Rust Canadian Modifieds.   No. 32 Doug O’Blenis secured his second vixtory in a row with a starting postion from the second row.  No. 1 Shawn Gregory moved quickly to battle O’Blenis but couldn’t make it stick. Following Gregory to the checkered flags was No. 5 Wally Alderdice, No. 29 Rich Sanders and No. 51 Mike Freeman.

Overnight precipitation aided the track crew with track preparations and at 6:00 pm another night of excitement began.  Day two of the Brighton Automotive Labour Day Classic saw six classes take to the dirt oval on the shores of Lake Ontario.

Quinte Septic Stingers collected their 24 car field and took the green flag from turn 4 with No. 14 Kevin Mutch securing the feature win. He was followed by No. 95 Chris Lammle, No. 67j Josh Whitney, 17e Evan Minnie and No. 79 Robert Jenner.

The Brighton Automotive Thunder Stock event hit the track after a short precipitation, preparing a fast and slick surface for the 22 competitors.  Starting from the fourth row, No. 03 Justin Ramsay made his way to the front to secure not only the feature win but the 2021 Championship title.  No. 40 Ronnie Wadforth followed him over the line in a tight battle, with No. 17 Jeff Humphrey, No. 0 Tyler French and No. 92 Adam Turner closely

Jacob Dykstra completed a weekend sweep of the Labour Day Classic at Brighton Speedway with his fourth consecutive Pinty’s Action Sprint Tour win on Sunday night. Austin Roes and Jesse Costa were on the front row for the 25 lap A-Main, and Costa took the lead and set off in search of his first win of the season. Costa’s season of misfortune continued, however, as he tangled with teammate Larry Gledhill and flipped hard on lap 12. The dejected Costa climbed gingerly from his damaged machine and eventually left the track for further evaluation. Dykstra inherited the lead, as he had taken the second position from Austin Roes a few laps prior.

Dykstra eventually encountered traffic after the green flag reappeared, and row four starter Allan Downey tried to run Dykstra down. Downey wasn’t able to get through traffic well enough to catch Dykstra though, and the win went to Dykstra by 2.587 seconds over Downey. Roes claimed the final podium position, followed by Nick Sheridan, Dale Curran, Brett Stratford, Eric Gledhill, Dereck Lemyre, Darren Dryden, and Joshua Hill.

The Late Model feature event on night two saw No.87 Andrew Hennessy draw P2 for the start.  Starting behind No. 5 Steve Baldwin, Hennessy took the lead after a caution in lap 5 and never looked back. Climbing from midfield, No. 57 Charlie Sandercock caught Baldwin through lapped traffic in lap 25 and chased his teammate to finish line. Baldwin took third, No. 46 Brandon Mowat in fourth and No. 92 Adam Turner for fifth place on the podium.

No. 14 Jim Huppunen and No. 28 Jordan Poirier have dueled all season in the Pinty’s Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car series, and they put on another entertaining show on Sunday night at Brighton Speedway. In the end Huppunen emerged with the victory, his second in three career Brighton races. Poirier settled for the runner-up spot, followed by No. 13 Cory Turner, No. 91 Ryan Turner, and No. 88 Alain Bergeron.

A caution littered Bill’s Johns Comp 4 feature event closed out the weekends racing.  No. 43 Devon Kippen secured the top spot, followed by No. 44 Tommy Bailey, No. 20 Cody Sager, No. 35 Jerry Kimmerly subbing for Taja Farrell-Sonnenburg and No. 22 Keith Dunk held the leader board after post race disqualifications to three competitors.

The points season comes to a close on Saturday, September 11th as QBT Excavating Services Ltd. presents Championship Night & the John’s Equipment Danny Reid Memorial 50 Lap Canadian Modified Race plus Late Models, Mini Stocks, Comp 4’s and Stingers.