Vanderlinden gets First Late Model Win

For Immediate Release
by: Angie Rinaldi
July 22, 2012

As the half way mark of the season has come and past with this Saturday’s Hotch’s Autoparts night at the 1/3rd mile speedway, the points battles are heating up as much as the summer heat in all divisions.  With four divisions in competition and the night ending with the Hotch’s Autoparts 30 lap endurance race the fans were stoked for a great night of racing and they wouldn’t be disappointed.  It was #09 Mat Vanderlinden in his Vanderlaan Building Supplies Late Model that went home happiest as he picked up his first win in the division and is the first rookie to do so this season.  Mat had many feature wins in the Canadian Modified division and stepped up to the late models this season with high aspirations.  Mat’s efforts have earned him Campbellford Chrysler Driver of the Week honours.

Kicking off the feature line up the Quinte Septic 6 Cylinder Stinger division took to the track for their 12 lap event.  This non contact division established for the beginner racer had 16 cars take the green.  #19 “Chili” MacGregor took the checkered flag to for his third win of 2012.  MacGregor showed patients coming from his sixth starting position and came through the field passing the #17 of Jeff Inia late in the race.  Inia would come home second while #95 Chris Lammle would finish third.

#29 Phil Potts  and #55 Mark Rayner would lead the Vanderlaan Building Supplies Pro Late Model to the green flag and Potts would jump out to the early lead.  Potts looked like he was on rails and wouldn’t be stopped on this night with Rayner in second and the rest of the field jockeying for position behind them.   On lap 8 a caution was called for a piece of debris on the front straight that came from the #42 Adam Nayler, Nayler would be sent to the back for the restart as Potts and Rayner would line up again on the front row.  Potts would take the high side but it would be #09 Mat Vanderlinden that would make the best of this restart from the outside of row two Vanderlinden would pull ahead of Rayner and duck underneath Potts.  The two would battle side by side for a couple of laps but Vanderlinden would pull out front.  Bad luck struck Potts a few laps later with a right rear flat tire.  Vanderlinden would go on to victory lane followed by Nayler who came back through the pack after going to the back on lap eight.  Steve Baldwin #5 having a great rookie season crossed the line third.  This was Baldwin’s third top five finish in a row and his fourth of the year.

The Brighton Automotive Pro Stock Division set the field for a 25 Lap Triple Crown race presented by Larry’s Towing.  This extended lap event saw the #72 “Big Smooth” Doug Anderson come from his eighth starting spot to challenge race leader #74 Mike Lucas for the lead.  Lucas was able to hold off Anderson for a while but Anderson was not to be denied.  The finish would see the Anderson, Lucas, and#36 Mitch Rosborough coming home third.  A post-race track technical inspection would see Anderson disqualified for improper shocks on the rear of the car handing the win to Mike Lucas.


The fourth feature race event to take to the track was the Bainer’s Radiators Canadian Modified division.  The division is quickly becoming a fans favorite for the exiting close competition racing.  Saturdays event was no different with four different leaders that included #01 Shawn Gregory, #46 Warren Mowat, #19 Zeke Mckeown and #11 Dan Ferguson.  Three wide racing saw Mowat trying to take the high side around Gregory and McKeown down the inside.  McKeown and Gregory would get together coming out of turn two and both go through the infield sending a tire on the track for a caution.  This would put the two to the back and leave Mowat and Ferguson to battle up front.  Ferguson worked his way under Mowat and wouldn’t look back to take the checkered flag.  Mowat crossed the line second and McKeown battled back through the field for third place finish to keep his slim points lead over Ferguson in the championship battle.

Finishing off the night would be the Hotch’s Autoparts 30 lap endurance race, with 29 cars competing for the top five spots to place them in the upcoming $10,000 to win Summer Slam Enduro presented by Bay Marine on Sunday August 26th.  #1 Shawn Gregory led from the poll and never looked back in the mayhem filed race.  Shawn was followed across the line by #17 Pat Mosco and his wife #22 Cindy Mosco.

Sam Hazelwood returned to the driver’s seat in the Late Model mechanics race driving Mark Rayner’s #55.  Sam looked like he had not missed a beat and lead from wire to wire to take home the win.  #11 Corey Earl’s crew chief Tim Jones chased Hazelwood for most of the race but could not put the outside move on him.  Jones would come home second.

As July draws to a close join all the race fans on Saturday July 28th as Marks Heating and Cooling presents a complete race program including the Vanderlaan Building Supplies Pro Late Models, Bainer’s Radiators Canadian Modifieds, Brighton Automotive Pro Stocks, the Bill’s Johns Comp 4 and Gord’s Water Vantastics return.  Gates open at 5:30PM and racing begins every Saturday night at 7:00PM.  Admission for a Family is only $25.00 and includes a free popcorn.  For more information visit or email


Brighton Speedway Top Five Race Results 7/21/12

Bainer’s Radiators Canadian Modified

Feature:1. Dan Ferguson (Bloomfield, ON), 2. Warren Mowat (Trenton, ON), 3. Zeke McKeown (Havelock, ON), 4. Kevin Scott (Trenton, ON), 5. Kraig Handley (Picton, ON),

Brighton Automotive Pro Stock

Feature:1. Mike Lucas (Belleville, ON), 2. Mitch Rosborough (Picton, ON), 3. Jay O’Hara (Brighton, ON), 4. Rob Perry (Wooler, ON), 5. Leslie Mowat (Trenton, ON),

Quinte Septic Stingers

Feature:1. Del MacGregor (Brighton, ON), 2. Jeff Inia (Colborne, ON), 3. Christopher Lammle (Trenton, ON), 4. Lexi Fletcher (Carrying Place, ON), 5. Robert Farrell (Belleville, ON),

Vanderlaan’s Building Supplies Pro Late Models

Feature:1. Mat Vanderlinden (Trenton, ON), 2. Adam Nayler (Quinte West, ON), 3. Steve Baldwin (Trenton, ON), 4. Brandon Mowat (Brighton, ON), 5. Caley Weese (Carrying Place, ON),

Hotch’s Auto Parts Enduro

Feature: 1. Shawn Gregory (Trenton, ON), 2. Pat Mosco (Trenton, ON), 3. Cindy Mosco (Trenton, ON), 4. Tom Vance (Trenton, ON), 5. Brian Mitts (Brighton, ON),

Photo Tags

1.       Mat Vanderlinden  #09 in the Vanderlaan’s Building Supplies Pro Late Model Division took home his first feature finish during Hotch Autoparts presentation of the races on Saturday night at Brighton Speedway.

2.       Shawn Gregory #1 is met in Victory Lane by son Brock as he takes the checkered flag in the Hotch’s Autoparts 30 lap Endurance Race at Brighton Speedway.