Whaley Out Battles McKeown, Ferguson and Locke for First Modified Win

For Immediate Release
July 8, 2012
by Angie Rinaldi

Morning rains covered the Speedway on Saturday but by noon the sun was shining for CBM Ready Mix night at Brighton Speedway. The morning showers actually aided with track prep put some much needed water into the clay, creating a fast and tacky racing surface for the five divisions of stock cars and the Figure 8 that was on tap   The heat of the summer doesn’t compare to the action on the track though especially in the Modified division on this night and it is only going to get better as the points battle getting to a feverish pitch.

First feature of the night was the Quinte Septic Stingers and it was #06 Steve Wells returning to victory lane for his second feature of the year.  Hard charger award went to Shawn MacGregor in the #19 substituting for big brother Del.  Shawn started 16th on the field and came home second in the twelve lap event while veteran #89 Gary Taylor  came home third and rookie #13 Kaylee Honey had her best career finish of fourth.

Brighton Automotive Pro Stocks took to the fast tacky track and #23 Rob Perry took the early lead and was followed by the #83 Jay O’Hara.  It was the reigning champ #72 Doug Anderson who took to the high side of the track and came from deep in the field picking off one car at a time on the outside.  By lap 8 Anderson had moved to the second and was poised to continue his march to the front as he went out around Perry.  The two would battle side by side for a couple of laps but in the end Anderson would not be denied and would pick up the win.  Perry would hold on for second and O’Hara would take the third.

Six cars setup for the once yearly Figure 8 race that saw #44 Mike Brooks start on the pole and lead the majority of the race.  Brooks would be challenged a number of times by #1 of Brett Minaker and would also have to dodge a number of close calls in the crossing of the track but he was able to navigate his way through safely for 12 laps and come home the winner.  It was Mike’s first win of any kind at the track.

The third feature of the night saw the Vanderlaan Building Supplies Late Models hit the track.  Early action saw the two pole sitters #11 Corey Earl in the and #46 Brandon Mowat get tangled on the front stretch going into turn one on lap 2.  Some minor body damage sent Earl to the pits for a quick fix, where he would return without losing a lap however would now have to start from the back of the field.  Up front it was a battle between #09 Mat Vanderlinden and #29 Phil Potts.  The two would battle back and forth but Potts would gain the advantage.  Mean while with the help of a couple of cautions Earl was making his way through the field and was now in second.  Potts looked to be in control and on the way to his third victory of the season when a lap 26 caution was the last thing he wanted to see.  This would now pit Potts against Earl in a side by side restart, Potts would pick the high side and Earl would go low.  When the green flag dropped coming out of turn four Potts would fire first but spun his tires while Earl seemed to have no problem hooking up and finding the traction.  Earl would take the lead going down the front straight and into turn one.  He would not look back for the next four laps to take home his third victory of the season and extend his points lead.  Potts would cross the line second followed by Vanderlinden who had his best finish of his rookie season.

The Bainer’s Radiators Canadian Modifieds race was the highlight of the night.  #91 Kraig Handley and #87 Andrew Hennessy would start on the pole   The two would battle side by side for the first few laps but it was the #13 Dale Locke and #12 of Adam Whaley that were making fast tracks on the outs side and soon Locke was on the outside battling Hennessy for the lead with Whaley waiting in the wings to see what would shake out of the side by side battle up front.  Meanwhile last week’s winner #19 Zeke McKeown and #11 Dan Ferguson were picking their way to the front from their starting positions that were deep in the field.  Hennessy would fade back and soon it was Whaley on the bottom with Locke on the top up front battling side by side and right behind them Ferguson was down low and McKeown was up top side by side.  It was a four way battle for a number of laps that had the fans on the edge of their seats!  The top spot was tossed back and forth but it was Whaley’s to lose as he fended off a number of challenges on the high side from Locke and McKeown and Ferguson was attempting to work his way underneath Whaley up the back stretch.  In the end Whaley would remain calm and keep his composure as he was being assaulted from all angles and would hold on for his first feature win in the division.  McKeown would edge out Ferguson at the line by less than a foot to come home second while Ferguson would settle for third place.

The Bill’s Johns Comp 4 feature saw rookie #43 Tom Vance take his first ever checkers flag ahead of points leader #17 Jeff Humphry, #81 Chris Gregory, #66 Mark Packer and #29 Rich Sanders.

Coming up this Saturday Watson Building Supplies and Aaron Auto presents the Sprint Car Showdown, $2500 to win Sprint Car event.  The Summer Show Down has also been named a qualifier for the Ohsweken Shootout and will award starting positions to the 1st and 2nd place drivers who are SOS regular competitors in the 10 lap “Ohsweken Shootout” on September 14th during Canadian Sprint Car Nationals weekend.  The shootout pits two drivers from each of the 5 co-sanctioning Canadian Nationals organizations plus two “Wild Card” entries in the first race of the weekend.  Also on the card are the Vanderlaan Building Supplies Late Models, Bainer’s Radiators Canadian Modifieds, Brighton Automotive Pro Stocks and Bill’s Johns Comp 4.  Front Gates open at 5:30PM and Racing begins at 7:00PM, visit www. brightonspeedway.com for all the details.

Brighton Speedway Top Five July 7th, 2012

Bainer’s Radiators Canadian Modified

Feature:1. Adam Whaley (Trenton, ON), 2. Zeke McKeown (Havelock, ON), 3. Dan Ferguson (Bloomfield, ON), 4. Dale Locke (Stirling, ON), 5. Warren Mowat (Trenton, ON),

Bill’s Johns Comp 4

Feature:1. Tom Vance (Stockdale, ON), 2. Jeff Humphry (Belleville, ), 3. Chris Gregory (Carrying Place, ON), 4. Mark Packer (Trenton, ON), 5. Rich Sanders (Picton, ON),

Brighton Automotive Pro Stock

Feature:1. Doug Anderson (Trenton, ON), 2. Rob Perry (Wooler, ON), 3. Jay O’Hara (Brighton, ON), 4. Leslie Mowat (Trenton, ON), 5. Mike Lucas (Belleville, ON),

Quinte Septic Stingers

Feature:1. Steve Wells (Picton, ON), 2. Del MacGregor (Brighton, ON), 3. Gary Taylor (Oshawa, ON), 4. Kaylee Honey (Codrington, ON), 5. Robert Farrell (Belleville, ON),

Vanderlaan’s Pro Late Models

Feature:1. Corey Earl (Picton, ON), 2. Phil Potts (Frankford, On), 3. Mat Vanderlinden (Trenton, ON), 4. Greg Belyea (Frankford, ON), 5. Caley Weese (Carrying Place, ON),

Photo Tags

  1. The Bainer’s Radiators Canadian Modified race at Brighton Speedway Saturday night was a highlight of an exciting night of racing with a four car battle to the checkered flag.  #12 Adam Whaley took his first feature win in the division in a fight to the finish with #11 Dan Ferguson and #19 Zeke McKeown.

2.       First time feature winner in the Bainer’s Radiators Canadian Modified on Saturday night at Brighton Speedway, #12 Adam Whaley credits his K5 Danny Reid Chassis with his win.